Author. Speaker. One dope mama.

Tanisia “Tee” Moore

Tanisia “Tee” Moore is a revered voice of African American storytelling known affectionately as “your family’s favorite author.” The common thread in all her books is her deep love of sharing life lessons embedded in Black culture.

Tee’s current releases for young readers are picture book I Am My Ancestors’ Wildest Dreams with illustrator Robert Paul Jr and chapter book Micah Hudson: Football Fumble with illustrator Aaron Cargill (first in a series). Tee’s next picture books will be When Black Girls Dream Big with illustrator with Robert Paul Jr (out October 15, 2024) and Wash Day Love with illustrator Raissa Figueroa (out May 4, 2025). Tee’s debut book for young people was released in 2022, the YA nonfiction Film Makers: 15 Groundbreaking Women Directors, written with Lyn Miller-Lachmann. Tee also writes adult contemporary romance as Nisia Roye. She is the author of After the Storm, writing as Nisia Skyy. Tee has new novels in the works.

Tee passionately believes that motherhood does not mean giving up womanhood. She hosts a podcast, The Other Side of Momming, and is the force behind MomTings.com, an apparel and lifestyle brand for mamas who need a gentle reminder that you can care for your babies and tend to your dreams.

Picture Books Now Available for Pre-Order!

When Black Girls Dream Big

“Tanisia Moore’s When Black Girls Dream Big is a book that allows its readers to see their beautiful selves depicted throughout its pages. So often, as young people, we are told what we cannot be or cannot do. But these inspiring and hopeful words, combined with Robert Paul Jr.’s magnificently compelling illustrations, let Black girls know each time they turn the page that all of their dreams are possible.”

 

Angela Bassett

Actor, Producer, Icon

Picture Book
by Tanisia “Tee” Moore, illustrated by Robert Paul Jr.

Publication date: October 15, 2024

Wash Day Love

Picture Book
by Tanisia “Tee” Moore, illustrated by Raissa Figueroa

Publication date: May 4, 2025

Out Now! #1 in the Micah Hudson Series!

Micah Hudson: Football Fumble
Picture Book
by Tanisia Moore, Illustrated by Aeron Cargill

Future football star Micah Hudson’s most prized possession is a football signed by THE Jackson Vick. But when he brings it to school for show-and-tell, it mysteriously disappears! With the help of his best friend, Carter, and a checklist on how to be a detective, Micah follows a trail of clues to catch the thief. Will he discover the truth before school ends?

Publication date: September 12, 2023

Out Now! My Debut Picture Book!

...The energetic text reads like a smooth stream of affirmations honoring the self and cultural pride. The cartoonlike illustrations use bright colors, cheerful faces, and confident poses to emphasize the power of the child’s positive self-image, fortified by a strong relationship with past and contemporary heroes. With the resonance of the titular saying and additional affirming phrases in the child’s assured voice, this book will lend confidence to Black children and remind all readers of the dignity and contributions of African American people.

A joyful tribute to share with young children.

Kirkus Reviews

A vibrant, heartwarming celebration of Black excellence and Black ancestors, this book invokes the legacies of Chadwick Boseman, John Lewis, Kobe Bryant, and Thurgood Marshall via an unnamed protagonist going about his day. Moore’s writing is firm and full of similes, inviting readers to imagine how they can be “like Tupac and Biggie” when they use their voices to touch hearts. Paul’s illustrations emulate watercolor and pastel work through a digital medium and will excite readers who see their heroes on the page. The refrain of “I am my ancestors’ wildest dreams” invokes hope and resilience while still being a positive, uplifting meditation. The back matter includes miniature biographies of these figures to serve as a jumping-off point for future learning.

VERDICT: Spot on for young readers who will enjoy the sparser text, this will also resonate with older readers who may be more familiar with the ancestors depicted.

School Library Journal

Now Available in TARGET for a LIMITED TIME!

I Am My Ancestors’ Wildest Dreams
Picture Book

by Tanisia Moore, Illustrated by Robert Paul Jr.

YOU are your ancestors’ wildest dreams. How will you express YOUR greatness? This electrifying anthem to Black boy joy and pride is perfect for fans of I Am Every Good Thing, Little Legends, and All Because You Matter.

I am fly.

From my crown

down to the kicks

on my feet…

I AM my ancestors’ wildest dreams.

In a story that sizzles and soars, a young child discovers his place in a distinguished lineage. As he meets ten exceptional Black men — historical and contemporary heroes who have paved the way for his own future success — he internalizes and asserts their greatness. Just like them, he can reach his dreams. And just like him, you have within you big potential.

Publication date: September 19, 2023

AUDIOBOOK REVIEW (Narrated by Nile Bullock, Tanisia Moore, and Robert Paul, Jr.) *STARRED REVIEW*

Moore’s empowering debut celebrates a young Black boy’s unbridled pride and joy for who he is: “I AM FLY. From my crown down to the kicks on my feet … I AM my ancestors’ wildest dreams.” Those ancestors include 10 heroes, from Chadwick Boseman to Charles Drew, from John Lewis to Thurgood ­Marshall. Already uplifting in print, the audio is an even greater exhilarating enhancement. Spirited, youthfully persuasive Bullock performs a confident narration over a ­dynamic soundtrack by Matthew Head. The same narration repeats, with a techo-rattle to cue page turns. Moore then reads her bolstering author’s note (“you, my friend, can change the world”), and adds “A Little About These Ancestors” she’s chosen. The final track concludes with artist Paul voicing his “imagination is the seed of greatness”—encouragement; his heroes are 11—MLK is visible only in print.

VERDICT: All libraries should invest in this impeccable collaboration.

School Library Journal

Film Makers: 15 Groundbreaking Women Directors

Film Makers: 15 Groundbreaking Women Directors
Young Adult Non-Fiction

by Lyn Miller-Lachmann and Tanisia “Tee” Moore

In Hollywood, women don’t have to be in front of the cameras to shine.

Each of the 15 women profiled in Film Makers share a common trait: she is, as Shonda Rhimes says, “First. Only. Different.”

These phenomenal women have entered into the film and television industry often being the first woman at a prestigious film school, the first woman to win an award usually given to their male counterparts, or even the first BIPOC to be nominated as—and win—best director at the Academy Awards.

While their resumes are impressive, it is how they live their lives that has made a greater impact in the communities they serve.

Publication date: September 6, 2022

“An appealing look at some of today’s best-known women filmmakers.”

Sharon Rawlins

Booklist

I've Got a New Bookshop Store!

This is an easy way to order my books and check out the picks from my Overbook Book Club!

By purchasing through any of my Bookshop links, I do receive a small commission from each sale. 

My Podcast

On the Other Side of Momming

Hey, Friend, hey! Grab your tea (or favorite drink), sit down, and let’s chat a bit on my motherhood podcast. Because I need to know that’s there more to motherhood than changing diapers, dropping kids off at the various activities, and all the stuff in between. Because we know that’s there’s more to this #MomLife. There has to be, right? On this podcast, we will talk about all of the things. How are we raising these tiny humans while still trying to live out our purpose? This is a safe place for all us moms trying to make the most of this life while still being dope mamas!

follow and connect with me on social media for the latest!

Speaking Engagements

Tanisia Moore is an accomplisted and experienced speaker for all ages, including children, families, and publishing professionals. This keynote is from SCBWI Southern Breeze Writing and Illustrating for Kids 2024 Conference (WIK24) in the session “ReKindling the Magic.”

ATS Cover PNG

By Nisia Skyy (Tanisia ‘Tee’ Moore)

After the Storm

Contemporary Romance Novel

When Brooke wrote her ex, Rashad, out of her life, she vowed to move on and never let him back in. Now with a devoted boyfriend and a promising career as a future OB/GYN, she had all the pieces in place for a great life. As she begins to deal with personal convictions, Brooke starts to question her current relationship as soon as her ex reappears. While struggling with forgiveness, Brooke enters into a period of her life she never saw coming.

 With the stress of not living up to his father’s expectations to follow his footsteps in ministry, Rashad became a smooth playboy with a controlling girlfriend fighting to change his ways. It wasn’t until his brother began to date his ex’s sister that he started to question his freedom as a bachelor and revisit one of the biggest mistakes of his life…breaking up with Brooke.

When these former high school sweethearts rekindle their initial friendship in the middle of their own turmoil, their collision causes a storm neither of them saw coming.

Will Brooke and Rashad be able to stand together after the storm settles or will their rekindled friendship end before it begins?

Book me to speak

info@tanisiamoore.com

General Information

hello@tanisiamoore.com